Orava Quartet

november, 2019

21nov7:30 pmOrava QuartetDeath and the Maiden - Newcastle

Event Details

Orava Quartet ‘Death and the Maiden’ tour 2019

Newcastle – presented by Newcastle Art Gallery Society

De Victoria – Byrd – Mozart – Schubert

A cornerstone of chamber music, Schubert’s Death and the Maiden is an expressive, romantic, and dramatic work that was written when Schubert himself was in death’s shadow. Considered a masterpiece, and filled with anguish, yearning and gentle consolation, it vividly tells the story of a young maiden who begs Death to pass her by.

Balancing the emotive power of Schubert’s work, Orava presents two sacred works from the Renaissance, reimagined for string quartet: An Ave verum Corpus by English composer William Byrd, and the motet, O Magnum Mysterium by Thomas Luis De Victoria, the most famous composer in 16th century Spain, along with Mozart’s classic string quartet no.17, ‘Hunt’.



(Thursday) 7:30 pm


Newcastle Art Gallery

1 Laman Street Newcastle NSW 2300